Monday, October 26, 2009

Fresh From the SEC Office...

Seems to be a ton of confusion about the ruling on Terrance Cody's helmet removal at the end of the UT-Bama game...A big part of this involves when the clock ran out and the establishment of possession. What would have happened had time been left on the clock? And if UT had recovered, could they have re-kicked, since the ball didn't travel past the Line of Scrimmage? So I asked Charles Bloom at the SEC office and this is what he said, "Thom – If there would have been time on the clock remaining, and based on what happened on the play, Alabama would have taken possession and a personal foul would have been called. If the kick goes past the line of scrimmage, the ball is touched by the receiving team, the kicking team recovers it would be the kicking team’s ball. If the ball stays behind the line of scrimmage, the kicking team can recover and take possession. Hope that helps. Charles" Seems pretty clear to me. One thing UT could have done was make an effort to recover the ball and advance it for a TD...again, since it hadn't gone past the LOS. finally, I got an e-mail from a UT fan irate that the SEC was conducting a cover up on behalf of Alabama! What a minute, isn't that what Alabama fans say, right before "Roll Tide!"?

No comments: